Exhaust Falls

Here’s a concept I did for my story. The inspiration for this came one afternoon when I was walking down the street from my office and saw a culvert that was sticking out of some brick near the road. A tree had grown over it, and the roots were sticking out and wrapping around the metal in various places, with roots and small vines trailing down to the runoff ditch. It reminded me of some sort of buried spaceship exhaust, so I snapped a pic and went to work that night.

This one was also done grayscale-to-color, and it was pretty slow going. I think all told I spent about two weeks on it, here and there, but I’m really happy with how it turned out. The little guy staring out over the falls is one of my story leads Korbos, who you may remember from a character concept I posted a while back. He’s kind of my wandering ronin-type character.

I tried to do something a little different with the angle on this after watching Tyler Edlin’s YouTube videos on perspective, so I went with a 3-point high angle, which is kind of unusual for me. I think it worked out fairly well, but I’d love to know if it’s reading okay to you folks.

Hope you enjoy!

exhaustfalls

Leave a Reply

