Spawn – Ascension 20

Well, this was a seriously fun one. We’re having a Spawn challenge over at Draw or Die this month, so I leapt at the chance to paint one of my favorite characters from the roaring ’90s. I feel I lost control of it at some point, and my values and texturing got a little out of hand, but overall I’m pretty happy with how this turned out.

I’m working on a landscape piece at the moment, and painting in straight with color, but once it’s done I plan on going back to a grayscale-to-color approach. I got many many good tips from the likes of Dominick Saponaro and Tyler Jacobson during my time at Spectrum Fantastic Art Live last weekend, and I absolutely can’t wait to try out their techniques. So stay tuned, and we’ll see how it goes!

Spawn-3-titles

Leave a Reply

