Kvothe and the Latantha

Here’s a new pic, kind of a mock book cover type of thing. The scene is from the novel The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss, where Kvothe stills the ever-present wind and willingly wounds his hand upon the razor-sharp leaves of the Latantha tree during his trials in Ademre. Absolutely fantastic scene, and I hope I did it at least a little justice.

I kinda wish now I’d done a little more dynamic angle, but I wanted to do this one start to finish without using any direct photo ref. I think it shows mostly in the face that I didn’t.

 

Kvothe

Also, here’s a neat little thing. I try not to bring this up very often, but I have Protonopia-type color blindness, or a red/green deficiency. There’s a color mode in Photoshop that will simulate this, and apparently it works pretty well, as my wife and I had a really long discussion about it last night. At left is what people with normal vision see. At right is what I see when I’m painting. Hopefully the wife isn’t pulling my leg, because she swears there’s a huge shift between the two.

I can’t see a single difference in them. Maybe a slight value shift, but that’s about it.

Anyhow, I thought y’all out there might be interested in seeing this. Color blindness is a funny thing, but it’s not insurmountable. Now I just need to work on my color theory a bit more haha 😛

colorblinddifferential

2 thoughts on “Kvothe and the Latantha

  1. Been following your blog for a while, had no idea you were a Rothfuss fan, too. Or maybe that’s how I found you, then I forgot. Anyway, there’s absolutely a difference! How do you know how to colour something if you don’t see the palette the same way as other people do? I love the items you added in the background, though I have to say, I imagined the tree quite a bit differently. Going to be re-reading the book soon though, so we’ll see whose representation is more accurate!

    1. Thanks for the input Anna! Haha, it’s kind of hard to describe how I color my images as I change process pretty much every time, but basically I’ve learned over the years where color is on the Photoshop color picker. Like, if I need a grass green, I know that it’s within a certain range on the picker. I can differentiate values well, it’s mainly hue that I have problems with, so PS is an invaluable tool when it comes to that. I also have a custom swatch palette that my wife helped me set up years ago, where I group certain colors like brown/pink skin tones and certain green and purple ranges.

Leave a Reply

