Ascension 5: First Strike

Here’s the final on my piece for Ascension 5 over at Draw or Die‘s Facebook group. Attached at the bottom is a copy of the brief by guest art director Reid Southen, so you can determine for yourself whether I met the criteria or not. I know I’ve been working on it for far longer than I should. I actually had the basic composition and details pretty much nailed down at the thumbnail stage, but I’ve been fiddling with the colors for a week solid trying to get them to harmonize.

I think it finally started to come together when I quit being such a snob and looked up some reference on battleships firing their cannons. The orange and yellow really helped it tie together, and I could reflect it to varying degrees across other areas of the image. It also provided a nice contrast to the blue of the sky. Reid and quite a few other cool artists provided some invaluable feedback on various stages of the pic.

I’ve got a couple of other projects I’m working on at the moment, including Diablo III and Hayao Miyazaki entries for upcoming DeviantArt contests. Hopefully I’ll have those done soon, but I’ve got a backlog of design work I need to get sorted first. Food on the table and all that. I’ve got a 5yo boy that eats like a horse 🙂

Anyhow, here it is. Hope you enjoy!

Never thought 1-point perspective would give me such fits, but it was crazy trying to draw the aircraft that aren't following the grid.
Never thought 1-point perspective would give me such fits, but it was crazy trying to draw the aircraft that aren’t following the grid.
The original brief from Reid. It's a cool challenge :) Head over to Draw or Die on Facebook to see all the entries!
The original brief from Reid. It’s a cool challenge 🙂 Head over to Draw or Die on Facebook to see all the entries!

 

Leave a Reply

