Ascension 4 Challenge- Beginnings

Howdy there 🙂

This’ll be a quicky, just to post some fun stuff. I’m waaay out of my comfort zone on this Ascension challenge for January. The goal is to illustrate “The Festival” by H.P. Lovecraft in a cinematic 2.35:1 ratio, with a focus on mood and storytelling. Here’s my original sketch idea. Not that great, but I liked the idea behind it.

That's his "Oh God, did I leave the stove on???!!!" face.
That’s his “Oh God, did I leave the stove on???!!!” face.

 

From there, I decided to pick a couple more scenes and thumbnail those. Here’s what resulted from that. I wound up reworking the original idea a little, and I like it much better now that there’s not as much emphasis on the foreground figure. I’m still not sure which one I’ll finish, but I’m leaning toward #1 or #3. That creature just looks like it’d be fun as hell to paint.

Ascension4-2

Leave a Reply

