Anyone else this way?

Any of my art friends out there have this problem? I’m working on a story that’s been bubbling around in my head for a little while now, but every time I come up with a logical or cool course of action, my scumbag brain starts dredging up my influences and sabotaging my enthusiasm. I’m so sick of getting an idea only to immediately think “Crap, they did that back in ’84 in Movie X,” or “Damn, that was just in Comic Z back in ’08.” Seems like everything’s been done before and I’m just mix-mashing it in a slightly different manner. 😦

One thought on “Anyone else this way?

  1. Thankfully, we live in a post-modern world and can always claim that our work is “intertextual” or “a pastiche”. 😛 Jokes aside, I think that just adapting ideas to your own unique style is enough to make something truly your own. You don’t have to invent the wheel, just enjoy the benefits of it, if you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

