Mary & Geoff: Whovians WIP pt. 1

Here’s a little something I’m working on in between 15 other projects. This is Mary, a fellow geek and friend from work, and her new hubby Geoff. Mary’s the nice lady who commissioned that Battlestar Galactica wedding portrait I did a few years ago, and she’s always wanted something similar.

They’re both giant Dr. Who fans, so she asked me to dress them up as the 11th Doctor and River Song. I’m no Doctor Who fan at all, but it’s been fun digging through the refs she provided (costume ref is below). Seems like a neat little show.

Anyhow, here’s the first of several WIPs to come over the next while. I’ve got until December to finish this, so I’m going to be working on it a little here, a little there. I’m kind of planning on mixing some Adam Hughes-style comic lines with a painterly Texas background (that’s where they honeymooned), so we’ll see what happens. Kinda hoping it’ll turn out like my Insidious piece.

Hope you enjoy!

drawing of Mary and Geoff
I still have a little work to do on Geoff’s face haha
doctor who costume references
Mary gave me this pic for costume ref.

 

Leave a Reply

