How to attract polar bears

Or, “Excuse me, do you have a moment to talk about the Word of Freezus Christ?”

Calling this one done. Inspired by our last trip to the zoo, and used my own reference materials. The poor bear just looked so damn miserable in the Memphis heat 😦

I’m actually really, really happy with the way it turned out, considering I’ve been slowly chipping away at it for the last 10 days or so. I tried to really utilize some photo textures this time around and integrate them into my painting process, rather than my normal “oh dis need texture /slap /durrrrr” method. It really cut down my rendering time as well. I probably spent about 12 hours all told on this one.

Hope you enjoy!

child freezing the window of a polar bear exhibit
Before he joined the X-Men, young Bobby Drake liked to f*@# with the zoo animals during field trips…

Leave a Reply

