Character designs

Meant to post this up yesterday, but I forgotted, so here they are now šŸ™‚

Some initial character designs for my Blind story I’m working on. I don’t think I went in quite the direction I’d intended. I used some ref for a couple of them, and I don’t think they’re quite “survivalist” enough. Plus, that guy on the right wound up being a complete Jack Sparrow riff. I was shooting for “gypsy husband” for the character beside him, but now I think I may have to inject a bit of Spanish gigolo into him just to get away from the pirate look.

I’m kind of struggling with this right now, to be honest, and it’s killing my confidence. You always hear, “Write what you know,” or “Write what you’d enjoy reading,” but how in the hell do you stay interesting during that process? Seems like every idea and major beat I come up with, I write it then immediately look back and yell at myself “Damn, you plagiarist, they did that in Movie-X!!! You suck! You’ll never amount to anything other than $1 drawings found in the back bins of country yard sales!”

I’m a little tough on myself, if you can’t tell. It could also be the fact that I’m not sleeping well, and could use some actual meaningful conversations/relations with an adult.

Anywho, here’s a drawing. I swear I’m still doing those from time to time šŸ™‚

BlindCharDesigns

2 thoughts on “Character designs

  1. I wouldn’t say full on Sparrow, but Sparrow mixed with Guybrush Threepwood from the Monkey Island series. Also, have you seen the “Everything is a Remix” series? It’s a little long but goes into how everything kind of barrows from one another.

    That being said, great line work and shading. I love how each character has their own unique expression and feel to them. All digital or paper and then shaded in photoshop?

    1. Thanks man! I have not seen that series yet, but I’ll look it up šŸ™‚

      These are all Photoshop. They actually look darker now that I see them on a work monitor…I need to get back into some pencil and paper. I haven’t worked traditional in soooooooo long.

Leave a Reply

