Life, the Universe, and Everything

Sorry that there haven’t been any updates on here for the last couple of weeks! I prostrate myself before you and beg your forgiveness. There’s been a lot of life stuff happening recently, including a re-staining of my back deck (which took 2 weekends and like 6 nights after work because the damn thing is HUGE) and a lot of job stuff.

The good news is, after months of waiting and 3 different interviews and design tests, I’ve been hired as a Graphic Design III at the University of Mississippi’s University Communications department! Woohoo!!! It’s pretty much the same position I held from 2008-2011, but a pay-grade higher. I’ll be handling a lot more web responsibilities, so the dept. head has offered to send me to some classes, which is awesome. I tried that for years under the two previous directors, and never could get anything going.

I’m really excited about this. I always loved working at the University, and I’m going to be continuing my current duties at PMQ (at a reduced salary and hours), so this year looks like it may be nice and busy and profitable. We’ll just have to see how this affects my ability to make art, but I’m really hoping that it makes me get a little more focused on getting an IP up and running. I’ve been really getting inspired by Danny LuVisi’s work lately, and he’s really put a bug in my ear about buckling down and putting together my own stories.

So, with that in mind, here is a piece I’ve been piddling with the last week. It’s a character piece of Echo, my blind warrior from the post-apoc story I’m working on. I tried to do it in the style of a book cover assignment. She’s a sort of post-human wandering the wastelands, watched over by and evading the ruling class of people who reside on these giant floating city-ships. There’s still a lot of work to be done on shaping up the story idea, but I’ve been really happy with how this piece turned out. I got some pointers from Danny LuVisi on a Facebook artists’ group, and they worked out really well, I think.

Hope you enjoy!
Eric

blind

2 thoughts on “Life, the Universe, and Everything

    1. Double thanks! And yep, those are whistles. She’s gonna have a couple of guide dogs that she commands through various whistle and vocal sounds. Tying them into her hair keeps them close at hand 🙂

Leave a Reply

