Game of Thrones-Season 3 Poster

Here is the final on that Game of Thrones Season 3 poster, for the gameofthrones.tumblr.com competition. I’m pretty happy right now with how this turned out, as I took a little time and put a higher level of polish on it than I have on many of my recent pieces.

I made a conscious decision after the sketch phase that I didn’t want to try for a direct likeness of the actors. Part of the appeal of reading (and yes, I realize this is for the TV show, but the books are always first and foremost to me) is visualizing the characters for yourself. The show has, so far, nailed it in my opinion, but I thought it would be more fun to be a little looser with the facial features on this piece.

I’m still not sure if I couldn’t take it even further, but I’ll have to let it sit for a while. I don’t think the contest ends until June, so there’s plenty of time to go back and revise during any spare time. I’ve got another idea for this that I want to put together, anyway 🙂

Hope you enjoy!

Game of Thrones Season 3 poster by Eric Summers

Leave a Reply

