A couple of in-progress works

Well, here’s a couple of things.

I’m not going to have much updated in the next week or two, as I’m about to get busy moving into the new house my wife and I just closed on. YAY! It’s seriously awesomesauce. I’ll try and post some photos once we get settled. For the time being, however, here’s a couple of updates on a new project and some new lines on that last pic I posted.

First up, an update to my last post. I decided after doodling around a bit more that I needed a definite direction for this one. A backstory, if you will. I’m a huge fan of post-apocalyptic stories. There’s something about fighting for survival in the burned-out husk of a once-thriving world that really appeals to me. Maybe that’s why I like zombie stuff so much. Anyway, I’ve never really read or seen any post-apocalyptic fantasy stuff. I’m sure it’s out there, but I’ve never run across it. So with that in mind, my blind warrior here will be making her way through the ruins of an abandoned Great City. Still a long way to go on fleshing this out, but it’s been a crazy ass week. Doesn’t look like it’s going to slack up anytime soon, either.

Gonna be a looooot of old ruins and burned out gas pumps and crap scattered about.
Gonna be a looooot of old ruins and burned out gas pumps and crap scattered about.

Next is a portrait I’ve been wanting to do for a while. (There’s a couple of my ref pics as well.) This is Amber. She’s 19 (I think), and the daughter of a very good friend of mine who passed away suddenly a few years ago. With all of our moving around, I haven’t been able to keep an eye on Amber, her siblings, and her mother like I’d have cared to. Her mother is doing well these days; recently engaged and seemingly very happy, from what I can tell via Facebook stalking. I really miss their family some days, so I thought it would be nice to do a portrait of Amber and her brothers as a wedding present. I banged this out in about 2.5 hours over the last two nights, when I’m not packing boxes and moving crap to the new place. Lots more to go, but it’s shaping up nicely. I think I nailed the likeness so far.

Amber WIP 1
Still some skin texturing to do as well as some highlights and hair rendering left to go.

On the graphic design front, things are SSDD. We’re staying awfully busy at PMQ, with the usual design schedule of many lazy days followed by frantic, manic, ass-kicking deadline crunch. The magazine is looking good, and I’m trying to keep Kara, the poor art director, from pulling her hair out or taking an Uzi to the sales staff. Got a few small websites that I’ve got to put together in the next week or two. I’ve got a pretty nifty idea for one of them, so I’ll try and post some progress on those as I get rolling.

Hope everyone out there in Internetland™ is doing well! Enjoy!

Eric

Leave a Reply

