PMQ Before & After

So here are some before and after shots of my recent redesign of PMQ Pizza Magazine. The main goal behind this was to really solidify everything in the book, from font consistency to grid layout to color consistency. I basically simplified the look of the magazine as much as I could. We pared the styles down to three font families (down from God only knows how many), four primary color choices (pizza colors: a yellow, two browns and a red), and set everything up on a 6-column grid for increased layout flexibility. This is honestly my favorite part of design. I love taking something that’s flawed and setting up systems to make it better. Granted, this is the second time I’ve done this with this particular magazine. The first time I really went in and set up a standards guide was back in 2007, just before I left the company. That lasted all of about 3 months after my departure. Absurd, but to each their own.

Either way, I’m pretty proud of how this turned out, both magazine and logo redesign. The book is a lot cleaner and easier to manage.

Check it out and let me know what you think?

Cover design - before (left) and after (right)
Cover design – before (left) and after (right)

 

PMQOnlineRedesign
Online @ PMQ – before (left) and after (right)
PizzaMonthNewRedesign
Pizza of the Month – after
PizzaMonthOldRedesign
Pizza of the Month – before
NYFinestRedesign
New York’s Finest – before (left) and after (right)
EditorRedesign
Editor’s Letter – before (left) and after (right)

 

Leave a Reply

