Merida from Disney-Pixar’s Brave

Thoroughly enjoyed Brave the other night, so I figured I’d put together a fanart.

This one’s actually been simmering in the back of my mind for quite some time. A good friend of mine and amateur photographer took a photo last year of his daughter, who looks JUST LIKE Merida, the main character of the movie. From the very first promo, I thought about Chad’s little girl every time I’d see previews. But then took his photo out on a horse-riding expedition, and I knew I wanted to use it as a ref.

I actually wasn’t going to do a portrait of Savannah for this one. I originally drew it a lot cartoonier, but I realized I’d made the impression that I was going to draw Savannah into the pic. So, I went back in today and repainted the face to look more like her.

I’ll probably change my mind in the morning, but right now I am WAY happy with how this turned out. The limited palette (which I pretty much lifted from the Brave marketing materials) really makes that red hair pop. I had an utter ball painting the will-o’-the-wisps, too. This piece turned out way more fun than I thought it’d be.

Hope you enjoy! Got some LOST fanart coming up next, I think!

Image

Leave a Reply

