So say we all!

This one was freaking FUN. Did it last spring-ish on the cheapy-cheap for a former co-worker. Her friends (the ones in the pic) met at Dragon-Con several years back as cosplayers, and they finally decided to tie the knot last year in full Battlestar Galactica Adama & Roslin attire. Now, as I’m a gigantic BSG dork, I jumped at the chance to paint their wedding portrait, which was a surprise gift from my co-worker and a couple of other friends.

I still think I painted Heather’s head a bit too big, but hindsight’s a bitch.

I went a bit overboard on this, but it was a total hoot getting to paint Vipers, Galactica and some Raptors (which are a BITCH, by the way). The bride and groom were presented with a 2’x3′ print, which they promptly walked out to the con floor (I forget which one they were at) and had it SIGNED BY EDWARD JAMES OLMOS AND MARY MCDONNELL! I dorked out when they told me about it. Wish like hell I had a copy 😛 I became Facebook friends with the happy couple, and still communicate somewhat often with them. Probably my first and greatest experience about how art can bring people together. Sad to say, but for as long as I’ve been doing this, most people just go “Oh great, yay! Seeya!” and then I never speak to or hear from them again.

Yeah, that kinda sucks.

But hey, got a fun piece and some cool new Facebook buddies, so all is well! So say we all!

Battlestar Galactica piece
Heather & David, aka Bill Adama & Laura Roslin

2 thoughts on “So say we all!

Leave a Reply

