Brady again

Continuing with the Brady theme of the past day (I swear I’ll stop after this one.), here’s the sketch and rough tonal beginnings of a portrait I started this evening. I’m pretty stoked after a shopping trip today where I picked up the complete set of Drew Struzan Star Wars theatrical posters, so I really want to try a portrait in his style.

Struzan is by far my favorite artist, and biggest inspiration, with Alphonse Mucha and Adam Hughes coming in a close second and third, respectively. I’d sell a kidney to have even a piece of a fraction of the artistic talent of any of those gentlemen. I’ve never really had the balls to try a piece in Struzan’s style, for fear I’d royally fuck it up or come off looking like a cheap rip-off. But what the heck. Gotta give your due to your influences, I suppose, and I am stoked about having a portrait of my awesome kid in that style. This can double as his 3-year-old portrait as well, I guess. I plan on getting a lot more down, dirty and detailed on this one than any I’ve done in a while.

19×23, Photoshop CS5, Wacom Cintiq 21UX, about 2 hours in thus far.

About 8 hours in. Going for a Drew Struzan look, but I’ll be damned if it doesn’t look like a freaking Richard Isanove comic cover…not that that’s a bad thing, mind you.

 

Image

About 5 hours in, tonal range pretty much done. Gonna start laying in color layers.

Leave a Reply

