Brandi & her girls

This was a fun one. It was a commissioned piece, painted and printed at 24×36″. Pretty big. I wanted to have some really good ref photography for this one, because I knew I had to nail the likenesses at that size.

Problem is, I can’t take good reference photos to save my life.

I do okay if I’m just looking for a general pose or expression, but I wanted to have a really good image to paint from, full of life and light. To that end, I enlisted the help of my friend Jennifer Swindle Hughes, and we had a wonderful photo shoot out at a mutual friend’s parents house. Nice sunny day, great light, and the two girls were really bouncy and happy. I picked a general pose and a few different facial expressions that I liked from the ref photography, and away we went!

I believe I spent somewhere in the neighborhood of 55-60 hours on this. Quite a bit longer than my normal paint time, but this was my first-ever privately-commissioned portrait, and I wanted to make it really nice.

Painted in Photoshop CS5 with a Wacom Intuos 3. Couple of detail shots included.

More to come in the next few days!

-Eric

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

