Barnabas Collins

This is my entry into the DeviantArt.com Dark Shadows contest. The goal is to “paint a portrait of Barnabas Collins (Johnny Depp) suitable for Collinswood Manor.” While I think I painted Jared Leto more than Johnny Depp, I’m pretty happy with how this came out, considering I went back and repainted the face three damned times! The first go-round, I tried to paint from a bunch of different references and it was just atrocious. The 2nd, it wound up looking like Sigourney Weaver. So, nope. Third time it worked out okay, so I’m just going to leave it as is.

Oh, did I mention this thing is being judged by TIM FREAKING BURTON? sqeeeeeaaaal!!!

Let’s pray I make the top 10. I think I may have a decent shot. There’s a lot of really good competition, but quite a few of them are just straight up portraits with little to no character. Hoping this might have enough “hmmmm” factor to get noticed.

This probably took about 20 hours all told, maybe longer. I know I spent 3 days painting it, with multiple little “I’m a sucking failure!!!” edits after that.

Edit 4/24: I couldn’t stand it, so I went back in (on the day of deadline no less) and fixed a few things up. There’s some great work so far in this contest, but I think I might actually have a chance at this.

Edit 4/27: Well, hell. I didn’t make the semifinals. Kinda bummed out about it considering the quality of some of the semifinalists (some were directly traced from trailer stills and promo refs). Oh well, nothing a good beer can’t fix. Maybe next time.

Image

3 thoughts on “Barnabas Collins

    1. Hey thanks! LOL I didn’t know anyone could even see this page yet, I’m still working on it 🙂 Great stuff on your site, and good luck on the Dart contest. I think I’m skipping that one.

Leave a Reply

